June 13, 2013

  • Engagement Rings

    This morning I got an email from Project Wedding about what you should do if you do not like the engagement ring you received, which made me chuckle. Then I went on to read stories about how much brides loved or did not love their engagement rings. I read a few where I thought they shouldn’t be getting married.

    For example, one bride said her fiance got her a big gaudy Cubic Zirconium  that said “MADE IN CHINA” on the inside of the band.. like what you can buy at Claire’s. She said it looked so fake and cheap, she wouldn’t even have chosen it for costume jewelry.  But then.. he goes and buy multiple used cars to build some type of special car ( he already owned one and wanted another one), which cost waaay more than her ring. Not that I think he should spend more money on the ring than his cars but for him to get her something so cheap and fake that she is EMBARRASSED to wear is sad. She would have just preferred a plain band. On top of that, she is scared to tell him because his feelings will get hurt and he will become angry at her. Red flags all over this story..
    Or another that got  her a yellow gold ring that was 13mm (I googled it, it’s over half an inch) for her tiny hands.. when she had wanted a dainty white gold ring. Or one that took her ring shopping and she chose what she liked, then he went and got her the exact opposite but later when her friend got engaged, he helped her friend’s fiance chose the ring she wanted.
    I think there is a difference between a brat who wanted a bigger diamond and a woman who’s fiance just outright, for whatever reason, did not listen at all. I get that for some couples, a  diamond engagement ring is silly in itself considering how not valuable diamond really, but that’s for a couple to decide together. I don’t think ANY decision should be made by one person and carried out without consideration whatsoever to how the other person will feel. 
    Luckily our own engagement story was a happy one. For years I had sent Won pictures of what I liked, solitaire, round, 6 prong, white gold. Can’t get any more simple than that. The actual diamond was up to him, I used to joke about it but when we started getting serious, I wasn’t going to ask for anything that would make him feel inferior nor superior. I just wanted him to be comfortable with what he would choose for me. So it made me really sad when he asked me how I felt if he got me what he could afford now then upgrade me later when he made more money. Sad, because #1. He still thought I was a gold digger after all these years and #2. I would NEVER EVER EVER EVER “upgrade” my engagement ring, to me it’s a symbol of how hard he worked to afford something for me, it is and will always be his “best” at this stamp in time. Even if in 5 years he can afford something 3 times as big and wanted to get it for me, I would happily take it, but I would never give up my current ring in exchange. 
    Long story short. I REALLY REALLY REALLY loved my ring. Everyone who saw it loved my ring. Even after some time, people would tell me it’s one of the few diamonds they’ve seen that they can’t get over how beautiful it is and compare all the diamonds they see to mine.Which makes me sooo happy and proud of my husband. I tell him all the time! I know he spent half a year through multiple jewelers searching for this one and he said he was just so beautiful compared to anything else he’d seen, including ones that had better specs. This one was just.. so sparkling. 
    Confession: Initially I had mixed feeling about the actual setting of the ring because it was more fancy than I had wanted, but after he told me how he specifically chose that one because he felt like I would want something fancy over something simple, I just dropped it. But he did offer if I wanted the more simple one I could go change it. Of course I did not have the heart to do it. And now, I love it more and more everyday. It seems Won knows me better than myself. 
    A lot of my girlfriends ask Won how he chose my ring because they were scared how to approach the subject with their boyfriend. And he advises them to just bring it up, and even if the guy acts like he isn’t listening, he is… or he SHOULD be. 
    We ended up going back to the same jeweler to design our wedding bands together. We just picked it up last week. LOVE it!! <3 <3 

Comments (17)

  • pretty! see you in a few days!

  • Beautiful ring!

  • “her fiance got her a big gaudy Cubic Zirconium that said “MADE IN CHINA” on the inside of the band.. like what you can buy at Claire’s. “

    If he wasn’t being an intentional jerk, it could be that he’s not too bright and got conned into thinking he got something nice- probably got ripped off too.

  • so beautifull <3 swoonnsss

  • @SoullFire -  That’s a good point… maybe he paid a lot for it thinking it was really good quality…

  • beautiful!!! My hubby proposed to me by giving me a fake plastic ring I had given to him the first night we met. He apologized that he couldn’t afford a ring right now but would I at least accept his proposal to marry him. I said yes and started laughing then he took out the real ring and said “Let’s see if this fits better.”

    I love, love my ring and just like you I will always cherish it :D

  • @Mad_Wife -  Hahahaha that is SOOOO cute that he kept it and used it to trick you. Awww your story is so sweet! <3

  • Oh God. Why marry someone you can’t talk to?

  • your rings look beautiful :D in my opinion, not knowing you guys, maybe he asked you what you thought if he upgraded later…because he loves you so much he thinks he could never get you “the best” and only wants the best of the best for you and as he makes more money wants to keep upgrading to show you in physical size, symbolically, how his/your love has grown? he knows you well enough, i don’t think he would think of you as a golddigger but that you like nice things and he agrees that you deserve them :D

    i know nothing about love and im no professional. i did sell wedding rings and bands for 5 years of my life. i quit in spring 2012 and i hate jewelry now lol. i told my bf i rather have a house than a ring and if he overspent on a ring, id make him return it. he bought me 700 dollar tiffany ring once for our anniversary or xmas or something and i made him returned it bc the mesh was coming apart. why pay so much money for bad quality? he swore he’d never buy me anything from there again bc i made him keep returning stuff. i hate wasting money even if it’s not my own money. to me, a rock is a rock. rocks are free in nature. im just saying. i do appreciate the symbolism in what the rings represent…when my good friends had a simple court wedding, i totally thought they should get at least matching bands to seal the deal bc she’s into that. they didnt have time tho. i think it depends on the couple. in my case, i dont care about romance. some girls really love it and if they do, the men who love them enough to marry them should being doing his best to appease them. it’s not about the price, it’s about trying to make her happy bc he knows she likes nice things. you like what you like. likewise, if a woman is adamant a man buy her something outside of what he can afford, maybe they shouldn’t be getting married? Marriage is about understanding and compromise, right?

    i hated selling crap for more than they were worth and hated how some women put a price on love…demanding bigger and better rings and how some men who could afford thousand dollar rings and wanted to buy hundred dollar rings, im talking 199-300 dollar rings to less than a grand for someone making considerably more than that. similar the claires ring/used car story. like the engagement ring would cost less than the fancy watch he had on his wrist. some couples opted for cheaper rings because they were buying a house or trying to save money which was sweet and responsible. i’ve seen all kinds of people, dirt poor people, i sold a 50 dollar piece of white sapphire plastic to this man once but he was genuine and i gave him the same service I’d give to someone spending 20k. the most expensive one i sold was probably 10k although I don’t remember much from that transaction. some ppl wanted me to ship in 30k diamonds they couldn’t afford and then bought 3k diamonds somewhere else after they wasted my time. I sucked as a salesperson bc at 1 percent commission, I didn’t care for the incentive. I just wanted to give everyone a good deal…which still failed me as a salesperson lol. anyway, i had to comment here bc i totally agree with what you said. well, i love all your posts, i just wanted to relate to this one personally.

    congrats on everything and make lots of babies soon :D

  • @JEuCE -  He is always his hardest critic.

    That’s so awesome, I would love to be a ring salesperson. The stories would be so good! Haha.

    An honest salesperson is the best in my opinion. You might not make the sales now, but I’m sure when you do sell, it’s the type of sell that builds a relationship :)

  • Where are you moving to?? ;_;

  • @juslitome -  Blogging wise you mean? I haven’t decided yet. Maybe I won’t continue blogging. Maybe I will some day! :)

  • @youngvan -  nonsense. once you blog, you can never unblog. lol.

    but i really hope you do continue writing.

    as to your gf…why would she want to marry a guy like that?

    and your ring is truly gorgeous!!

  • @Mad_Wife - What a cute story!!!! :)

    I really really like what you said about how the value of a diamond ring is something for a couple to decide together. That’s all that matters. It’s how relationships should work in general… don’t do something without regard for your significant other’s feelings. :)

    I love your engagement ring story! It’s so sweet how he still managed to surprise you with an extra element that you weren’t expecting. Even better that you ended up loving it! I get what you mean about not wanting to give up the ring he proposes with because of its sentimental value. I never really thought about it, but you’re right… if my husband offered to upgrade my engagement ring 10 years later, I don’t think I could trade in the original one for it. I’m super sentimental lol.

    My bf and I just had a conversation about rings last night. I described to him what I like and jokingly said “you can write it down after I fall asleep.” He took out his phone and wrote it down right then and there!!!! LOL!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *