November 27, 2013

  • Thigh Gap

    My whole life I’ve been on the petite size, always the first 5 in line for class pictures. Although I’m terribly short, I’m not exactly scrawny. I’m not chubby but I’ve definitely got meat on my bones.  I remember in middle school one of my REALLy skinny and tall friend was on track and one day she walked into class with her tiny track shorts and she had a HUGE thigh gap. That was probably my FIRST time noticing it and all I could think was she looked like a skeleton because her thigh didn’t touch. But whatevs. Didn’t think much about it. Then in college all these guys were talking about how sexy thigh gaps are and how it makes the list for things that makes guys melt.

    Oh, okay, so a thigh gap is ATTRACTIVE. But no matter how skinny I got, even when I was like 80 pounds in my early twenties due to diet pills, I didn’t have it. So I thought, hm.. maybe their legs are BOWED out so thats why they have the gap. I read a couple of fitness blog debating if you can achieve them with diet adn exercise or if they are simply a genetic thing. I just accepted that my thighs are close to each other and the meat I have on my them just will always touch. Luckily, I never struggled with my weight. I was happy to have some T&A but skinny enough for everyone to call my skinny.

    Since I’ve been pregnant, I’ve been taking my showers while sitting down in the tub because I get really tired and light headed randomly so I’d rather just be sitting down. Today as I was shampooing my hair, I looked down at the shower water hitting my bent knees, I looked at my thighs and HOLY TAMOLEY, there is  gap between them. NO WAY! So I straightened my legs thinking the meat & fat will spread out and touch my thighs together again but NOPE! Even when my legs are straight, there is still a gap! A small one, but one nonetheless.

    Kind of exciting but I’m pregnant!! I’m supposed to be GAINING WEIGHT!! UGHHH!!! I need to eat more. LOL. Maybe because my hips got bigger for the baby so my thigh bone spread out further apart creating a thigh gap? Hahahaha I don’t know. When you least expect it!

    Btw, today I was grocery shopping with Won. I always hook onto his arm and bounce around and we kept knocking into each other so I made a joke about how he needed to walk straight and stop bumping into me. Then he looked at me and said,” maybe your hips got wider. Ever think of that!?”

    UGHHHH!!!!!!!!! I’ll KILL HIM!!!!!

Comments (9)

  • First off hope you had a great Thanksgiving love!

    But yeah I never got that whole “thigh gap” thing that guys drool over haha. I’m a tall gal with some meat on me and I’d much rather be this way than to have that gap. I think it looks awkward LOL.

    • LOL! Hear hear sister! I never really understood it either but some guys will be guys. I’m sure we have things that we drool over and guys are like wtf -___- haha

      Hope you had a great Thanksgiving too!!

  • Until recently, I’ve only heard about “thigh gap” on “thinspo” pages. And to tell the truth , I’ve never heard any of my buddies ever mention anything like that as a highly desired quality in a potential girlfriend. I may have to take an informal poll.

  • Never in my life have I or any of my friends or even acquaintances EVER talked about a “thigh gap” or even considered such a thing desirable. I say this is a made up thing foisted on women to drive in more insecurities and diet products.

    Guys typically look for body curves and proportion. Can you imagine a guy saying “Hey girl, stand still so I can see if you have a ‘sexy’ thigh gap!” Ridiculous! :/

    Congrats on your expected bundle of joy!

  • Yep, apparently there is such a thing. While this oilfield fraternity has never discussed this topic, (amazing since we don’t have barriers to any possible subject matter), informal polling has revealed “thigh gap” is a desirable characteristic for those in the mid-20′s group. But we all agreed that yoga pants are good for the fit and trim, but should definitely be banned for those who .. let’s just say they should have know better.

  • I’m guessing Won was banished to the couch that night… hahaha.

    • Lol.. He didn’t even know what a thigh gap was before my blog and now he goes, “you have me to thank.” -___-

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *